Ian De La Rue Youth Initiative Award


Nominations open     Early October  

Nominations close     Late October 

Nominations               ONLINE

Winner announced    UYCE Ltd Annual General Meeting held in November

Upper Yarra Community Enterprise hold the Ian De La Rue Youth Initiative Award to recognise, acknowledge, and reward a young person Under 25 who makes a positive contribution to their Upper Yarra community.

The Community are invited ‘Give a Shout Out’ and nominate an outstanding young person in their Community organisation, group, school or club. 

Nominations are reviewed by UYCE Ltd and their decision is binding.

 Who are we looking for?

We are seeking to recognise young people who independently assess and take action on matters that are important to them. Young people who:

  • demonstrate motivation;
  • demonstrate a willingness to take responsibility;
  • have a fresh approach to creating enduring solutions to life’s challenges;
  • seek to improve their own lives as well as contributing to the broader community.

The nominee must:

  • Be under 25 years of age;
  • Live in the Upper Yarra region defined as towns with postcodes 3799 and 3797.
  • Be nominated by a teacher, employer, coach, mentor, committee member or other individual who has worked directly with the nominated person in a community capacity and recognises their potential;
  • Contribute to the Upper Yarra region defined towns with postcodes 3799 and 3797.

This $1,000 Award is presented in the spirit of the late Ian De La Rue OAM, first Chairman of the Warburton Community Bank 1999-2005 and a member of the Steering Committee that founded the Bank.

An initiative of UYCE Ltd this Award is made possible through the generous support of Community Banks Warburton and Yarra Junction and was first awarded in 2012.

About Ian

Ian De La Rue OAM, 1947-2007

  • Warburton Community Bank branch of Bendigo Bank, Steering Committee Member 1998-1999
  • Warburton Community Bank, First Chairman 29 Oct 1999 – 20 June 2005

“The tireless enthusiasm and passion you showed in your many roles was truly remarkable. Your exemplary leadership, caring nature and generosity was an inspiration to us all. Your outstanding contribution to the community will always be remembered”

The Board of Directors, Shareholders and Staff of Warburton Community Bank, June 2007

On 26 January 2008, one year after his passing, Ian was awarded the Medal of the Order of Australia in the Australia Day Honours List for his contribution to the Community.

A former banker and fanatical Bulldogs supporter Ian’s close relationship with the Upper Yarra Community began in 1989 when he became Owner/Operator of Millgrove Licensed Grocers.

Widely regarded as one of Upper Yarra’s most respected and loved community leaders Ian was involved in a long list of organisations outside of the Community Bank.  Those which benefited from his involvement include and are not limited to: the Winterfest Committee, Warburton Chamber of Commerce, Warburton Advancement League, Warburton Bowls Club and Warburton Millgrove Football Club Supporters Group.

Honour Roll – Ian De La Rue Youth Initiative Award

Congratulations to all our Award Winners, and good luck to all our aspiring Award Winners!

On behalf of our community we say thank you to these young people for the contributions they have made to the community and the opportunities they have created for others!  Each received $1,000.





Cooper Allum and Marley Perry

No Award


Rosie Hellicar


Ashlee Shotter and Jordynne Castleton


Raegan Charlton Smith


Teri McIntyre


Rachel Lee

Alyssa Parkins


No Award


Aleksei Bondarenko-Edwards

Harley Lubeck

Rebecca Lumsden-Keys

Hannah Mahoney

Steven Sanders


Kieren De Visser


Skye Johnston


Lily Belle Hellicar

Sarah Ward

Please read more about their individual contributions here.