2024 Scholarships for Upper Yarra Students Announced


$3,000 each to three locals!

Congratulations to Grace Cole, Ashlyn Hermansen and Lucas Rush. They all received $3,000 Scholarships under the 2024 Community Bank Warburton and Yarra Junction Scholarship program.

Open to local Upper Yarra students who are embarking on first year tertiary studies at University or TAFE this local program, made possible by the generous support of the two local Bendigo Bank branches, is now in its 11th year. Since its inception in 2014 it has provided a very impressive $48,000 of financial support to 31 Upper Yarra students.

Grace, Ashlyn and Lucas are the latest additions to the Honour Roll and are thrilled to have received a great boost to their education futures.

Grace Cole from Wesburn, studied at Lilydale High School and will be commencing Environmental Science Wildlife Conservation and Biology at Deakin University Burwood Campus

Ashlyn Hermansen from Launching Place, studied at Upper Yarra Secondary College and will be commencing a Bachelor Arts Degree, at Monash University Caulfield Campus

Lucas Rush from Yarra Junction, studied at Upper Yarra Secondary College and will be commencing a Double Degree Exercise and Sport Science/Business (sport management) at Deakin University Burwood Campus

All three students showed exemplary commitment to their studies in a range of challenging circumstances and demonstrated need that financial assistance would help ease the demands of travel expenses incurred in living at home whilst studying and course costs.

Community Bank Warburton & Yarra Junction Senior Branch Manager Kristy Sumner said,

“Supporting students towards tertiary study is part of the branches’ commitment to provide opportunities for our Youth and ultimately building a stronger Upper Yarra community.

It’s just another part of our Community Investment program that we are very proud of. “

To read more about the Scholarship Program CLICK HERE

The annual Community Bank Warburton & Yarra Junction Scholarship program opens for applications in December each year and First Year Uni or TAFE students are encouraged to apply.


Photo: 2024 Upper Yarra Scholarship Recipients L to R:

Lucas Rush, Grace Cole, Bendigo Bank Branch Manager – Kristy Sumner, Ashlyn Hermansen